#NATIONALDOGDAY

#nationaldogday

 

…but my dog was too stubborn for a picture.

He is mostly stubborn for anything. But my beast can be gentle sometimes, and those were the times I treasure most. When he would allow me to carry him and we would just sit still for a while, those kinds of moments. He is 7 years old now. And he is Huckleberry Finn.

Below is an article I’ve written back in college as part of a requirement for a Writing subject under BRIGHTS category:

Oct. 3, 2010 4:00pm

I’m 18 years old. I have a three-year old dog that is as tired as me right now. We just came from a run. Yeah, at 4:00 in the afternoon. We’ve been doing this for weeks now. After his bath, we always run until he’s almost dry. It’s not an exercise; it’s better called an escape. For a few minutes, I can spare my mind from thoughts of school works and other stressing stuff. And my dog also seemed to enjoy our routine for he is always extraordinarily active.

I know we can’t go on like this forever. I know one of us will be gone sooner. And I know, too, that continuing this will only make separation harder. Yet I know we will still do this once or twice a week.

Enjoy the good things while they last for these are the moments that would make your life worthwhile. Once you are old, these are the things that would make your heart grow younger.”

Hmm… Not bad. Haha! This was 4 FREAKING YEARS AGO!! He is older, but still as conceited and mischievous as ever. On his good side though, he is cute when he is jealous, when he sits while eating because he is too full to stand up, when he is so obedient when it is time for food, when recognition hits his blurry eyes whenever he sees me coming and a lot more gestures of him I’ve grown to love and got used to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

